SGIAA members have voted at their AGM in Melbourne to change the name of the association to FESPA Australia. President Nigel Davies says the move will not affect the group’s close relationship with SGIA in the US.

Starleaton's Peter Way with students at the recent SGIAA Colour Boot Camp in Melbourne
nigel 7
 Nigel Davies, president FESPA Australia

  "FESPA is a Federation of 37 national associations whose members share the same challenges our members do,” said Specialty Graphic Imaging Association of Australia (SGIAA) president Nigel Davies in a statement. “FESPA supports these associations through its 'Profit for Purpose' program, and the projects that FESPA has financially supported have enabled fantastic outcomes for the industry in Australia and across the world. 

“Last year we submitted a detailed business plan and funding application to the FESPA Board and were invited to take the FESPA name. We can now announce that our members have voted to support this change."

“The name change does not affect our close working relationship with SGIA in the USA as the historical similarity in names is only coincidental. Our members benefit from access to the resources of the two powerhouses of the global specialty printing industry.

The meeting also elected two new members to its board. 

David Asker of ImageBox joins the board as Vice President. David is a pioneer of the wide-format industry in Australia, co- founding ImageBox in 1988.

Donovan Sendall of Rawtech Solutions joins the board as Supplier Director. “Donovan, alongside Pamela Mannell of T-1 Print, captured the attention of the apparel printing community with their 'Make Screen Printing Great Again' events,” said the statement.

Leaving the board is outgoing Supplier Director Martin Stacher of Kissel + Wolf, who returns to Europe soon to take up a head office role with his company.

“I thank the outgoing board for their tireless work over the past term which has delivered new initiatives such as the SGIA Colour Management Bootcamp and ASGA/SGIAA Awards,” Davies said. “The strength of our board lies in its deep and balanced representation of the main sectors of our membership, and I am excited at what we will achieve over the next 2 years.”

The incoming board:

President. Nigel Davies -  VMG Print Group

Vice President. David Asker - ImageBox

Group Secretary. Keith Ferrel - Cactus Imaging

Treasurer. Mark Brooks - Ancyn Screenprinters

Public Relations Officer. Ben Isdale - Super Special

Supplier Director. Donovan Sendall - Rawtech Solutions.


Pin It